Published on

Chris Stapleton Unapologetically and Amazingly Country

For a long time, I was convinced that there was no one out there writing great music right now. I dug the classics like Frank Sinatra. I was always on the hunt for something new and different. And I was never a huge country music fan.

And then I discovered Chris Stapleton.

It all started with "Tennessee Whiskey". I had heard the song on the radio a few times, and always loved it. The way that Chris poured his heart and soul into every note was simply incredible. I knew that I had stumbled upon something truly special.

But I was skeptical. After all, there are so many artists out there who have one big hit and then fade into obscurity. Was Chris Stapleton just another one-hit wonder?

But when I heard "Starting Over" for the first time, I knew that I had found my new favorite artist. The lyrics really spoke to me in a relevant and timely way that just hit home. They were about starting fresh, about taking a chance and following your dreams. And at that moment in my life, it felt like he was singing that song just for everyone experiencing contraction in the tech industry. A friend who had just gotten his dream job after being laid off danced to it with his wife in the kitchen.

But it wasn't just "Starting Over" that drew me in. It was the way that Chris Stapleton's music made me feel. Every song was a journey, a story that unfolded with every note. There was "You Are the Joy of My Life", a beautiful love song that reminds you of everything that's good and pure in the world. And then there's "Cold", a haunting ballad that speaks to the pain and heartache of lost love. Or "More of You" a magical, pure love song played best on one guitar and two reverent voices.

Not enough? We're going for an epic playlist here. Try "When the Stars Come Out", a touching tribute to living in Los Angeles.

One Sunday night, I was on my way to get ice cream when I passed a honky tonk musician covering "Traveler" on 2nd Avenue in Nashville. For a moment, I thought it was Chris Stapleton himself. And even though it wasn't, I was reminded of just how much people love his work.

Since then, I've been a diehard fan. I feel grateful every day that I stumbled upon his music, and I can't wait to see what he comes up with next.